EDCC Presents Multiple Legislator of the Year Awards at Economic Vitality Caucus

The regulatory, tax and incentive environment in Colorado is primarily a function of the state legislature. This is why policy development is such an important part of what the EDCC focuses on as an organization. But our success in influencing policy is only as strong as the support we receive from legislators each year, so to recognize that support, the EDCC selects the Legislator of the Year from the ranks of state representatives and senators. This year, the EDCC Board chose to present multiple awards to legislators who were key to this year's success in passing or defeating bills that either enhance or detract from our economic development goals. The 2012 EDCC Legislators of the Year included:

The four co-chairs of the legislative Economic Vitality Caucus:

- Representative Randy Baumgardner (R-Cowdrey)
- Representative Sue Schafer (D-Wheat Ridge)
- Senator Cheri Jahn (D-Wheat Ridge)
- Senator Ellen Roberts (R-Durango)

Also chosen as 2012 EDCC Legislators of the Year are:

Representative Brian DelGrosso (R-Loveland)

Representative DelGrosso is the Chair of the House Finance Committee and has served on the Finance Committee for the past four years. He is a strong advocate for sensible economic development and has been especially helpful in crafting legislation dealing with economic development. His tenure as Finance Committee Chair has had profound positive impact on economic development-related legislation.

Representative Amy Stephens (R-Colorado Springs)

Representative Stephens is the House Majority Leader and has been especially helpful in drafting economic development legislation and managing floor debate on these bills. She has been very involved in the CELC during her legislative career. As is the case with Representative DelGrosso, Rep. Stephens has had an extremely positive impact on legislation important to the EDCC.

Representative Chris Holbert (R-Douglas County) and Senator Mark Scheffel (R-Douglas County)
Representative Holbert and Senator Scheffel were the prime sponsors of HB 12-1029. This bill allows local governments to forgive or abate Business Personal Property Taxes (BPPT) as an incentive to attract capital investment. Traditionally, the BPPT has been a highly contentious issue and frequently mentioned by businesses as being the most onerous of all taxes. Passage of this legislation is an important step forward in attracting and retaining businesses, particularly capital-intensive companies that generally have large payrolls.

Senator Mary Hodge (D-Brighton) and Representative Bob Gardner (R-Colorado Springs)

Senator Hodge and Representative Gardner were the prime sponsors of SB 12-035, concerning a limitation on liability for spaceflight activities. This bill was signed by Gov. Hickenlooper at the 28th National Space Symposium in Colorado Springs and is being touted as the first critical step in initiating commercial spaceflight activities in Colorado. The Front Range Airport in Adams County has applied to the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) for designation as a commercial spaceport. This legislation passed the Senate 35-0 and the House 65-0. Colorado is home to the second-largest private aerospace workforce in the United States, with eight of the country's top aerospace contractors having significant operations in Colorado. This is landmark legislation that immediately thrusts Colorado into a prime position to further develop commercial spaceflight activities.

The EDCC takes great pride in announcing the recipients of the 2012 EDCC Legislators of the Year and heartily congratulates the thoughtfulness and hard work of these dedicated elected officials.